Citizen of the Year

The presentation of the City of Bunbury Citizen, Young Citizen and Community Group/Event of the Year awards will again be held on Australia Day, 26 January 2021.

These awards provide an opportunity for individuals and groups making outstanding contributions to the Bunbury community through their inspiring actions and dedicated service to be recognised.

Download a nomination form here

Citizen of the Year

1982 Mrs J M Jones 

1983 Mr R K Mitchell 

1984 Mrs M Lamp 

1985 Mr L G Clarke MBE 

1986 Mrs D P Sullivan

1987 Mr A G Baxter

1988 Mrs O V Martin

1989 Mr F J Campbell

1990 Mr R Mark

1991 Mrs M Cross

1992 Mrs P A Barnes

1993 Mr P Owens

1994 Ms L Nielson

1995 Mr A G Bricknell

1996 Mr C M Mills JP

1997 Mr P Smith

1998 FR B Newing

1998 Mrs D Terry

1999 Valda Smith

2000 Mr Mauria Williams

2001 Mrs Lyn Clarke 

2001 Mrs Pauline Vukelic 

2002 Mrs Madge Wells 

2003 Ms Sheila Stephens 

2004 Mr Jeffrey Clifton 

2005 Mrs Veronica Steele 

2006 Mrs Dulchie Hartzer

2007 Mrs Marie Malatesta 

2008 Mr Bill Robins 

2009 Mr Arthur Taylor 

2010 Mrs Barbara Fleay 

2011 Mr Merv Mancer OAM

2012 Mr Stephen Foster 

2013 Ms Sandra Lankester

2014 Ms Alison Comparti JP

2015 Mr Ian Mills

2016 Mrs Joyce McGinn

2017 Helen Robinson​

Community Group/ Event of the Year

1992 Festival of Arts and Nature 

1993 Multicultural Dinner Dance 

1994 City of Bunbury Eisteddfod 

1995 South West Dance Festival 

1996 ‘AGAPE’ – A Christian Musical Production 

1996 International Dragon Boat Festival 

1997 World Croquet Championships (Central and Moorabinda Croquet Club) 

1998 Bunbury Hockey (International Tests) 

1999 Bunbury City Eisteddfod 

2000 Bunbury 21st Birthday Waterfront Festival 

2001 Children’s Week 

2002 Kids Helping Kids Concert 

2002 Macbeth 

2003 Surf to Surf Fun Run 

2004 Bunbury – Southwest Relay for Life 

2005 Carols by Candlelight Committee 

2006 Building Better Hearing Group 

2007 Chefs Long Table Lunch 

2008 South West Relay for Life

2009 St John of God Hospital Palliative Volunteers 

2010 Country Women’s Association 

2011 City of Bunbury Surf Life Saving Club 

2012 County Women’s Associations 

2013 Salvation Army Emergency Services Support Team 

2014 Relay for Life Bunbury Southwest

2015 Hands Up 4 Kids 

2016 South West Multicultural Festival

2017 Morrissey Homestead Incorporated​

2018 Bunbury RSL Sub Branch & Doors Wide Open

2019 Bunbury Runners Club

Young Citizen of the Year

1982 Mr J G Lishman 

1984 Mr A Tredget 

1988 Mr R Cresswell 

1989 Miss C R Tibbits

1990 Miss S Sharpe 

1993 Mr A Doust 

1994 Ms T Ciffolilli 

1995 Miss S Heption 

1995 Miss R Hepton 

1996 Mr N Bell 

1997 Mr N Massingham 

1998 Mr A Ness 

1999 Jo-Anne D’Cress 

2001 Ben Zito 

2002 Miss Alexandra Hickman 

2003 Miss Natalie Veart 

2004 Miss Samantha Massingham 

2005 Mr Ben Small 

2006 Miss Felicity Blake 

2007 Miss Amy Van Dijk 

2008 Miss Tandra Norris 

2009 Mr Keaton Widmer 

2010 Miss Ashleigh Espinos 

2011 Mr Brodie Stewart 

2012 Mr Colin Keys 

2013 Mr Cory Van Dijk​

2014 No one nominate

2015 Sean Smith

2016 Miss Luella Knuckey 

2017 Samantha Russell​

2018 Louise Bradford

2019 Mikisa Knuckey​

For more information please call 9792 7000 or email